RSS

Thinking a lot about rocks lately

19 Aug

Spending a lot of time reflecting on our Unplug’d12 experience and with all the tweets about our rock sharing, I find myself considering what rocks mean to me.  As I shared in our circle at Northern Edge Algonguin, I grew up with the notion that rocks were a nuisance, actually a hazard (no pun intended Ben) that would result in damage to my dad’s (and later, my husband’s) farm equipment.  Rocks became the bain of my summer vacation, back-breaking work actually that kept me from spending time with friends.

Interestingly enough, I studied geology in university and came to appreciate their beauty, mystery, their value for all living things on earth.  My very existence is thanks to rocks.  And what parent doesn’t have a box of their child’s rock collection stashed somewhere special?

So, I brought a rock to Unplug’d12, a hurried choice, a shallow reflection accompanying it.   When I listened to the meaningful connections of the others, I knew I would do it differently next time. I hope I get that chance.  Every song, every poem, and every story (thanks Kelly) about rocks I encounter will be different. Connections with people just expanded to include these mineral wonders.  Spent the weekend hauling a fine assortment of these weighty wonders throughout my garden to honour my time at unplug’d.

Rocks rock (sorry, couldn’t resist)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Thinking a lot about rocks lately

  1. Kelly-Ann Power

    August 19, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Love it Brenda 🙂 I feel the same way… I’m sure your garden is very special!

     
  2. fryed

    August 20, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I giggled when I heard you share your rock story “at the edge”. This northern girl “from the shield” married a southern Ontario farmer who also picked rocks out of fields as a child. It gave me some insight as to why I still need to hide my rock collections!

    I will be thinking of you today as I place all the rocks (hiding) in my car into special places in my garden and reflect on all of the learning I have been so fortunate to be part of over this past few weeks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
